Trust staff celebrated at award ceremony

Date: 26 October 2015

Some of Somerset Partnership’s finest staff were celebrated at the Trust’s annual staff awards ceremony earlier this month for the inspiring care they provide to their patients.

More than 80 members of staff were successful in 12 award categories including awards nominated by patients, and the Trust Chairman and Chief Executive.

At the ceremony, compered by BBC Somerset’s breakfast presenter, Emma Britton, recognition awards were presented to:

Outstanding Leader award

Sue Gamblin, Head Chef and Housekeeper, Dene Barton Community Hospital

Angela Conway, Senior Sister, Burnham on Sea War Memorial Community Hospital

Commitment to Quality awards

Vicky Baker, Staff Nurse, Meadow Ward, Williton Community Hospital

Shaun Carthew, Matron, Shepton Mallet Community Hospital

Compassion in Care awards

Amanda Pearson, Barnfield Unit, Minehead Community Hospital

Tonia Waller, Administrative Assistant, Frome Community Hospital

Patient Safety awards 

Martin Chapman, Holford Ward Manager, and the Holford Ward Team, Taunton

Sarah Ashe, Named Nurse for Safeguarding

Dignity in Care award

The Trust Carers’ Assessment Workers: Sue Chappell, Jackie Murphy, Pamela Scott, David Bobbett, Jen Pain, Karen Godwin, Kay Thorne, Ali Pomeroy, Anna Hobson, Janet Chamberlain and Caroline Mead

The Innovation award

Hayley Hughes, Matron, Frome Community Hospital

Everyone Counts award 

Tania Andrews, Acute Hospital Liaison Nurse Musgrove Park Hospital.

Elizabeth Childs, Hotel Services Supervisor, Williton Community Hospital

Unsung Hero award 

Sophie Brewer, Staff Nurse, Meadow Ward, Williton Community Hospital

Michelle Marshall-James, Administrative and Clerical Team Leader, Musculoskeletal Physiotherapy booking office, Chard

Team of the Year award

Rapid Intervention Team: Mark Addison, Lisa Tagg, Bridget Unwin and Joanna Sheldrake, Fiveways Resource Centre, Yeovil

Exmoor Ward staff, Minehead Community Hospital:

Patient Choice award

Rachael Vincent, Emergency Nurse Practitioner, Frome Minor Injury Unit

Chief Executive’s award

Chard WATCH Project

Chairman’s award

Edward Colgan for his years of service to Somerset Partnership

Benjamin Bryant, Staff Nurse, Wincanton Community Hospital

Edward Colgan, Chief Executive of Somerset Partnership, congratulated the winners and said:

“I am delighted to be able to recognise the dedication and commitment that is evident in these staff awards. I am pleased, on behalf of the Trust Board, to recognise the outstanding contribution and excellent care provided by these staff – they make a real difference to our patients’ lives.

“I am particularly pleased that even in these challenging times for the NHS, our staff continue to take great pride in what they do and continue to put our patients first.”